Federation Internationale de Football Association reveals final list for Best Player award

Modric Cristiano Ronaldo and Salah

Modric Cristiano Ronaldo and Salah

In fact, it is the same three players, who were nominated for the UEFA Men's Player of the Year, who made it to FIFA's final three as well.

Orlando Pride forward Marta has been named a finalist for The Best, FIFA's annual award for the top women's player of the year, it was announced on Monday.

Messi has been overlooked for the Best FIFA Men's Player accolade, with Ronaldo, Salah and Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric in the running.

Portugal's Ronaldo, who has since left Real for Juventus, joins Salah as a finalist for the Fifa Puskas award, which honours the most handsome goal of the year.

Lionel Messi has heaped pressure on arch-rival Cristiano Ronaldo by claiming his new club Juventus are "clear favourites" to win the Champions League this season.

Antonio Rudiger thinks Chelsea will only improve under Maurizio Sarri
But Marcos Alonso set up a late DeAndre Yedlin own goal to win it for Chelsea and Rudiger said: 'That's a good sign. " Chelsea had Sarri come in and I understand that the club did not want to lose its best player".

Modric collected a total of 313 points, with Ronaldo, who left Real for Juventus in the summer, picking up 223 and Liverpool and Egypt striker Mohamed Salah 134.

"Before, everyone wanted to play for Barca or Madrid, who were the best, but now everything's tighter and there's not much of a difference between the teams in Manchester, PSG, Madrid, us, Bayern (Munich) and the Italian (teams)".

What has been hurting Barcelona and Lionel Messi fans the most is that the Argentine talisman was the top scorer and joint-top assist maker of last season in the Spanish league. Salah was injured in the final but was recognized for his Premier League record 32 goals for Liverpool.

The best goalkeeper prize is to be contested by Tottenham and France's Hugo Lloris, Denmark's Kasper Schmeichel, son of Peter, and Belgium's Thibaut Courtois, whose World Cup heroics earned him a move to Real Madrid. Norway and Lyon's Ada Hegerberg, Dzsenifer Marozsan of Germany and Lyon, and five-time victor Marta, of Brazil and Orlando Pride, were shortlisted for the women's prize.

The awards ceremony will take place in London on Sep 24.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.