The Best FIFA Awards 2018

Messi Modric

Messi Modric

Lionel Messi was a notable absentee from the final three-man shortlist and neither he nor Ronaldo were present at the ceremony in London.

Peru's supporters won the FIFA Fan Award and German Lennart Thy, who plays for Turkish club BB Erzurumspor, won the FIFA Fair Play Award after donating stem cells to help a leukaemia patient.

The Puskas Award is Fifa's way of recognising the most handsome goal scored in the past year and Salah's gorgeous effort against Everton last December was voted the best.

Ronaldo - whose fans are still adjusting to seeing in a Juventus jersey - was denied a third consecutive Federation Internationale de Football Association best men's player award.

The Liverpool player's goal against Merseyside rivals, Everton, in the Premier League was adjudged the best goal and victor of the Puskas Award. Thanks to those who voted for me.

"Also I want to thank especially my family, my friends - they always stand by me in the good times, the bad times, but they are always there for good advice, so thank you everyone".

Deadly gun attack at Iran military parade
He added that none of the terrorists could escape, noting that other reports about the details of the attack are not confirmed. Iran has blamed its Mideast archrival, the Sunni kingdom of Saudi Arabia, for funding their activity.

The Matildas are now ranked eighth in the world, but went unbeaten in the Tournament of Nations last month and will take on France next week as they prepare for next year's FIFA Women's World Cup.

Ronaldo had won the award for the last two years with Messi and him dominating the voting over the course of the last 11 years.

"This trophy is not just mine, it's for all my Real Madrid teammates, for all my teammates from the Croatia national team". The coach award in the women's game went to Reynald Pedros, the Frenchman who led Lyon to French league and Champions League glory.

Belgian Thibaut Courtois, a recent Real Madrid transfer from Chelsea, won the best goalkeeper award.

Real Madrid Croatia's midfielder Luka Modric receives the UEFA champions league midfielder of the season award during the draw for UEFA Champions League football tournament at The Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on August 30, 2018.

The award victor will emerge from a vigorous process which had a voting process involving fans, national team coaches and captains and journalists from across the globe.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.